Skip to content
December 12, 2012 / dantti

new Apper updater

Hi,

I’m very glad to be able to be making new posts about stuff I like, though my situation still not finished, we have sent some papers to lawyers at Argentina and since this year booking is too much expensive my wife will only be going there next year. The donations money helped a lot but almost half of it is already gone, we still need to pay the Germany lawyer and if you know BRL vs EUR it doesn’t play  nice :P Maybe next year I’ll set another pledgie, and I hope to be able to have payed most of bank debts till next year…

Back to the topic, I’ve already said I was planning a new updater, and now I want to share it with you. I’m so happy about it because it makes the updating use case much easier… come on! Just click the icon (maybe do a quick) and press update :P how easier could it be?

Apper 0.8.0 will probably be released next week, tomorrow I’ll try to do the last strings changes, and then I’ll give the translators a week to update the few missing strings, 0.8.1 hopefully will follow by January to fix the new introduced features that certainly broke something.

I’m not entirely happy yet with how it works but it works. I still have to show some KDialogs to review dependencies, agree with not trusted packages… hopefully in near future all of that will be inside the plasmoid.

The old tray icon will be gone with this and more changes (I’ll blog when I handle the release) to move away from the regular tray have been done too.

And really thank you very much for your support, thanks to everyone that cared about me I was able to be at my wife’s birthday 7th, my soon 8th and today mine on the coolest day of the year 12/12/12 :D

Enjoy the screen shots:

Getting Updates

Getting Updates

A rare up to date system

A rare up to date system

The list of updates

The list of updates

Downloading Updates

Downloading Updates

UPDATE – I forgot to put the screen shot when you click and expand an update, to see it’s changelog (still misses some info):

Updates Changelog

Updates Changelog

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pascal d'Hermilly / Dec 12 2012 08:03

    Hi. Nice work. In order to make it more elegant you could add a “Details ↓” toggle button. The user will often not be interested in the details.
    Another thing; After clicking update the dialog could “minimize” and perhaps the icon can have a “working” state(rotating gears instead of static gears?). The disappearing of the working state icon would be notification enough of completion. Of course an error should trigger a real notification.

    • dantti / Dec 12 2012 08:08

      Hmm I forgot the screen shot where it shows the details, and the gear is not static I’d need to upload a gif :P
      I’m uploading the updater list with an item expanded…

      • Maik / Dec 12 2012 08:22

        I think the previous commenter ment to not show the list of updates at all. Just a plain:

        “xxx Updates are available.”
        Update now — Do it later”

        Would be more then enough for the common user. The ability to show the whole list and the details of each icon could stay there as an “Show Details” option.

        Thank you really much for your work and good to hear that you are on track again.

      • Pascal d'Hermilly / Dec 12 2012 08:27

        Cool about the non-static gear (yea I did not think about gifs ;-)
        Actually, I meant details about which packages that needs updating. So you only see “272 updates are selected” unless you click for more details.

      • dantti / Dec 12 2012 08:47

        Ah ok, indeed I was thinking about something like this:
        You have X updates:
        * 3 Security
        * 4 Bug fixes
        [ Review ] [ Update ]
        Where if the user click security only the security one is show,
        if click review, it shows all of them.
        What do you think?

      • Pascal d'Hermilly / Dec 12 2012 09:13

        I think reusing what you have already done is the best. As default all updates could be selected. People who care about which/type of updates will click the details list. Here you can add a “Security updates only” button on the top of the list. If clicked it can start security updating.

  2. Rnd / Dec 12 2012 09:24

    Looks great!

    Can I add my 2¢?

    I suggest to avoid the “second precision” in the message that says how much time ago updates where checked. Nobody really cares about that. I think that a simpler message such as “Just checked”, or “One minute ago”, “One hour ago” would me more intuitive and less cumbersome.

    • dantti / Dec 12 2012 09:26

      I agree but, that’s a kdelibs function that I doesn’t have such control.. maybe it’s worth adding another one there..

Trackbacks

  1. new Apper updater - Bartle Doo
  2. openSUSE et open source » Blog Archive » Le futur plasmoid Apper
  3. Nowy aktualizator dla Appera | KDEFamily

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

