Skip to content
April 26, 2013 / dantti

Auto-EDID ICC profiles

For those who don’t follow Hughsie’s blog, I’m reposting it here. It’s about helping with statics data if you use colord-kde.

What he asks is quite simple but doesn’t make sense if don’t have colord-kde installed, you don’t need to have ever touched it, colord-kde creates an edid ICC profile for your display automatically so the kded module only needed to have run once, please try:

A favour, my geeky friends:

gnome-settings-daemon and colord-kde create an ICC profile based on the color information found in the EDID blob. Sometimes the EDID data returns junk, and so the profile is also junk. This can do weird things to color managed applications. I’m trying to find a heuristic for when to automatically suppress the profile creation for bad EDIDs, such as the red primary being where blue belongs and that kind of thing. To do this, I need data. If you could run this command, I’d be very grateful.

for f in $HOME/.local/share/icc/edid-* ; do
    curl -i -F upload=@$f http://www.hughski.com/profile-store.php
done

This uploads the auto-EDID profile to my webserver. There is no way I can trace this data back to any particular user, and no identifiable data is stored in the profile other than the MD5 of the EDID blob. I’ll be sharing the processed data when I’ve got enough uploads. If you think that your EDID profile is wrong then I’d really appreciate you also emailing me with the “Location:” output from CURL, although this is completely optional. Thanks!

 

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

