print(“progress…”);

Some people were poking me about the new printer-manager status, and I think there’s no better place than here to show it’s progress. Last post lot’s of you loved and hated the queue user interface so I end up changing it a bit.

As you know time is the problem always, so when I have I few I try to work on what’s needing, as the print-queue is basically done I worked on the System Settings module to make it work, and it already does some goodies, it can set your default printer, and share it if sharing on the server is enabled (besides showing a few of it’s description and status). Now that I got this working adding some more stuff isn’t _that_ hard… Hope you enjoy the screen shot.😀

“An honest answer is like a kiss on the lips.” Prov. 24:26 (NIV).
print(“progress…”);

21 thoughts on “print(“progress…”);

    1. dantti says:

      Yep, inspired, although there’s not much to do differently…
      System Settings by itself seems a bit inspired on that😛

  1. pano says:

    Looks good!
    Just some remarks:

    According to the KDE Human Interface Guidelines, the text/strings on buttons should be “Title Case”, this means that every letter has to be Capitalized (except for some exceptions :-D).

    E.g. “&Resume printer” has to become “&Resume Printer)
    or
    “&Active jobs” to “&Active Jobs”

    Thanks a lot🙂🙂

    1. dantti says:

      AFAIK this is exactly the opposite It shouldn’t be “Title Case” but I’ll try to make sure of this..
      Thanks😀

    2. dantti says:

      Yep, you was right, funny that in pt_BR things are not that way… so It’s fixed now, thanks for the heads up😀

  2. Fri13 says:

    I must say that I find the Mac OSX printer configration panel very confusing. Maybe the reason is that some of the buttons are not lined together on same line.
    Even the your suggested KCM makes it nicer way.

    The job list still is missing (by my opinion) the “Close” button what would close the dialog. Even it is hard to be place there when there is “Cancel” “Hold” “Resume” buttons on same line. But we can not wait that every person has the window decorations there so user has “Close” button in the window decoration.

    Like the KDE Plasma Netbook has decos hided and windowses as fullscreen. How user should close the “Job management” window then?

    Is there GIT from where this can be tested?

    1. dantti says:

      Good to know that you liked,
      now about the close button on the print-queue it makes me wonder how does system settings works? There is no close button on my System Settings, also no close in dolphin… and such, that’s why I still don’t understand why does the queue has to have that button.

      1. Fri13 says:

        System settings itself is not a dialog but a application program. Dolphin ain’t either a dialog but application program.

        The queue is the dialog like open/save dialog. You need to have a Cancel/Apply/Ok or as in this case, the Close button.

        Dolphin allows user to have a “Quit” button in toolbar. System Settings does not what was one thing what I missed a lot on multitouch netbook where I was configuring the apps being fullscreen without deco. All dialogs were fine because I could get them without decoration to specific place/size and they had Close or the basic three buttons on them.

        System Settings is impossible to get closed once opened on such system without keyboard.

    2. dantti says:

      Right, IMHO the problem here is with netbook doesn’t having a button to close applications, I never used it, but you will find lots of applications do not having a close button, then what? they need to change? I think It’s far easier to add some cool close button to netbook…

  3. rockinrobstar says:

    Looks good!

    Some questions:
    1. Does it work with DNS-SD to find printers shared using Zeroconf (Avahi / Bonjour) ?
    2. What protocol do you use to share the printers? Is it samba or ipp and can you configure it for other protocols ?

    1. dantti says:

      Thanks,
      hmmm for 1. I don’t know what is DNS-SD… and for 2. It’s the cups protocol that shares the printers as you would do if open http://localhost:631, about other protocols I don’t know currently I’m targetting CUPS…
      best.

      1. rockinrobstar says:

        If you want to know more about zeroconf have a look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zeroconf and then http://www.zeroconf.org for the technical deatails. After a bit of reading it seems that Avahi support (Avahi is the zeroconf service used in most Linux / BSD distros) is due as a feature in CUPS 1.5 (http://www.cups.org/roadmap.php ) however if you wanted you could use the kde kDNSSD API to add browsing support to your control panel (once you look at it – you will see its fairly trivial to do!).

        Reading the CUPS help (search for ‘sharing’), by default Mac OS X shares using the CUPS protocol and Bonjour (Apples zeroconf implementation) where as other platforms only use CUPS unfortunatly.

  4. It’s heavily inspired by OSX printer configuration pane but I must say that it looks like a better implementation🙂
    I mean, OSX is really wonderful when you happen to plug via USB a supported printer. It just works (TM) and you can print right away. Different beast if you have to install some no-zeroconf enable network printer… I hope that this new printer manager will be better. As I said, it seems to be, I can’t wait to try it. What’s the timeline? SC 4.5?

    Thanks for your work, it’s really needed (yes, I’m one of those who doesn’t like Fedora Gnome printer manager and it’s kubuntu port)

    1. dantti says:

      Thanks, I’ll try to handle the make it easy to install supported printers (although I have no clue atm on how to do this), and I’ll do my best to make it easy to add new printers manually.
      And yes I hope to get this into 4.5

    1. dantti says:

      Sorry, although I use Debian I didn’t created packages, I try to expend time on things I do better😉 but you can checkout the svn code it’s quite easy to install.

Leave a Reply

