colord-kde 0.5.0 released!

Last official stable release was done more than 3 years ago, it was based on Qt/KDE 4 tech, after that a few fixes got in what would be 0.4.0 but as I needed to change my priorities it was never released.

Thanks to Lukáš Tinkl it was ported to KF5, on his port he increased the version number to 0.5.0, still without a proper release distros rely on a git checkout.

Since I started writing Cutelyst I had put a break on other open source projects by mostly reviewing a few patches that comes in, Cutelyst allows me to create more stuff that I get paid to do, so I’m using my free time to pick paid projects now. A few months ago Cristiano Bergoglio asked me about a KF5 port, and getting a calibration tool not to depend on gnome-color-manager, and we made a deal to do these stuff.

This new release got a few bugs fixed, pending patches merged and I did some code modernization to make some use of Qt5/C++11 features. Oh and yes it doesn’t crash on Wayland anymore but since on Wayland the color correction is a task for the compositor you won’t be able set an ICC profile for a monitor, only for other devices.

For the next release, you will be able to calibrate your monitor without the need for the GNOME tools.

Download: http://download.kde.org/stable/colord-kde/0.5.0/src/colord-kde-0.5.0.tar.xz.mirrorlist

colord-kde 0.5.0 released!

Leave a Reply

