Apper 1.0.0 is out!

Apper the package/apps manager based on PackageKit has got it’s 1.0.0 version on it’s 10th birthday!

Screenshot_20180220_173026

Following the PackageKit-Qt 1.0.1 I’m now doing an Apper release to match it’s API, Apper source code got ported to Qt5/KF5 but not completed and using some kfsupport classes, now it’s code got modernized to C++11, new Qt connect syntax and no code depends on kfsupport, it is also properly using AppStream now, some performance improvements on the package model.

It’s now a stand alone application (no longer integrated in system settings), this was due 99% of it’s usage being by calling the apper executable and this helped fix a crash due it being a KCM module.

Feature wise I plan to add support to fwupd allowing users to update firmwares with a native tool, but time is short and Cutelyst 2 with HTTP 2 support is my top priority now, but help is welcome!

Download https://download.kde.org/stable/apper/1.0.0/apper-1.0.0.tar.xz.mirrorlist

Apper 1.0.0 is out!

16 thoughts on “Apper 1.0.0 is out!

  1. Thomas says:

    I often use the tray icon to update the system. Now with the new GUI I would be interested how Apper relates to Discover. What is the purpose of Apper compared to Discover. Thanks!

    1. dantti says:

      Which new GUI? If you think Apper is a new GUI your are wrong, Apper has 10 years and is much older than Discover, that has always been a question to Discover to answer.

  2. Jeff Hodd says:

    I’ve always loved apper and was disappointed when it became so broken I couldn’t use it. It seems to be mostly working properly again now, except for update notifications. Are you going to get notifications and the system tray icon working again?

  3. David Locklear says:

    I just installed Debian for the very first time and chose Plasma. I have used several distros with Plasma before and never noticed “apper.” Debian Buster Plasma comes with both Discover and Apper pre-installed. How do I get rid of Discover ? I don’t need Discover. Right ?? The only thing wrong with Apper is I should be able to clap my hands and it opens up. Then it could be called Clapper. ( Just kidding ). I would like to thank Mr. Nicoletti, for this incredible about of work he did, and for persevering thru life’s setbacks.

Leave a comment