Coloring you desktop with colord-kde

I’m sorry I never finish a thing… Apper, debconf-kde, print-manager and now colord-kde…

WIP  FTW!!!

But at least I start a bunch of things that get in some “Finished” state, some people say they don’t know from where to start well I have several started options 😀

So let’s talk about colord-kde, colord is a simple daemon that manages color profiles it probably does a bit more than that, but the actual color correction happens on the clients, which of course makes sense, imagine if colord had to understand Cups, sane, X… Each “device” needs it’s own controler, so colord-kde isn’t just a KCM that manages colord profiles and devices (tho it’s needed to have the KDE look’n’feel), it also has to manage the X outputs.

You plug a monitor the KDED module has to detect it, register with colord, if colord already knows it then we need to get the default ICC profile and set on the right X output. And I’m glad to say it’s just working!!!

Both the KCM and KDED modules are WIP, missing things include not detecting new outputs nor being able to add ICC profiles through the GUI, I could say we have 60% of the needed code but if you are crazy enough to go testing (and hopefully coding) it already provides the feature. Be careful, I had to restart my laptop since the screen got black, the bug was fixed but be advised…

KCM which is able to change the default profile
KCM which is able to display all profiles available and their info
The left monitor is using a Blue profile

Of course all of this wouldn’t be near to possible if Richard Hughes didn’t give me a hand, thank him, he filled the code with lots of TODO’s and small parts of code, he even coded a few stuff in his limited Qt/C++ knowledge 😀

Enjoy

UPDATE: I forgot to mention where the code is: git://gitorious.org/colord/colord-kde.git

Coloring you desktop with colord-kde

13 thoughts on “Coloring you desktop with colord-kde

  1. BajK says:

    Great! 🙂 If you’re already at screen stuff, can’t you fix krandr? It annoys me to hell that it *always* has to screw up my screen config 😦 Why can’t it just save it correctly and never ever try to re-dect it?

    1. dantti says:

      I thought of doing so, but Alex Fiestas already has plans for it, so for now let’s just play with color stuff…

    1. dantti says:

      If by KDE color schemes you mean having a black background for windows or red fonts then no.
      It’s about setting a profile so that a color is more accurately displayed on your monitor.

Leave a comment